Home » Uncategorized » Weeeeek Three!

Weeeeek Three!

Hello!
 
So it is the third week here in the MTC, and it sure has been one filled with amazing things! Like the sun. Vitamin D!
 
Sister Witt and I just keep learning more and more how similar we are and how similar our goals are for our lessons and our mission. I don’t know if many of you knew that my primary goal for this mission is to love people like Christ would love them (I feel like I say it all of the time, so I’m sorry if I repeat all the time), but Sister Witt and I were talking one day and we figured out that we both want to do that above all else! She said the words exactly as I said them before I left to come here! It was then that I knew it definitely is no coincidence that we are companions. It was so relieving to hear.
 
Sister Bill (I don’t remember if I had mentioned her before, but she was our roommate when we moved in and was a Solo sister so she went around with us a lot. It felt like a tricompanionship, which was very awesome a lot of the time) left for New Caledonia on Sunday. Sister Witt and I and many other people were sad to see her leave, but it just made us all the more excited to leave on April 1st! The best April Fools I will probably ever have. Unless someone decides to send me a munchkin kitten and say that it isn’t a joke. But who knows.
 
Our whole district is so excited to get out there in France and be among the people. At this point, even though I’m not completely fluent, I feel almost ready. But I know that, as soon as I get out there, I will have to ask many times: “Repetez, s’il vous plait?” Just because they will probably speak at the speed of light. It will be awesome, though, I can already feel. I love French, though. It really is an awesome language, and I love speaking it and trying to sound like a frenchman.. Woman? Person?
 
Today is SUCH a beautiful day in Provo! It’s so sunny and warm, and I can’t wait until it is that way all of the time. Hopefully we’ll get to exercise outside before we leave. I want to run around on the grass! They have an indoor track here at the top of the basketball court, so that’s what Sister Witt and I do a lot of the time.
 
But yeah, I want to get some pictures to you all before I leave, so hopefully that will be possible. Maybe one or two of Sister Witt and I and maybe Sister Bill. The only computers capable of uploading photos are the computers in the laundry room, and you have to guard them like hawks.
 
There are so many people here from different countries, too! In our building, there is a Sister who is from France, knows English already, and is here to learn sign language. We eat with her and her companion sometimes, and it’s interesting to see them learning our language. Sister Witt and I were trying to figure out the equivalent to “bon appetite” in english. At first we couldn’t because you really don’t hear too many people saying “Good eating!” in english. But then we remembered that sometimes people say “Enjoy your food.” It’s fun realizing that we’re starting to forget some of the things in english.
 
We talked to a Elder from Finland today who is going to Germany. I really wanted to hear him speak Finnish, though (just like every American), so we asked him to speak Finnish to us. It was awesome and confusing at the same time. I had nothing really to compare it to in sound. Because you would want to say that it is like German, but nope. It had a lot of phonemes that I have never heard. Like a nasally thing in the back of the throat but also like gibberish. That would be cool to learn someday.
 
Only five minutes left! I wouldn’t say that I love the MTC, but I love the feeling here. It really is spiritually lifting, and I love feeling that way. And I know for sure that this is where I am supposed to be.
 
I opened randomly in the Bible during my personal study, and it opened to 1 Jeremiah Chapitre 1. That is when Jeremiah first became a prophet, and the Lord was telling him that he knew him even before he was in the womb, and that he was called from that point to serve. And to not feel like a child because the Lord is there for him, strengthening him because he has called him. And I realized that I was prepared for this calling even before I was a member of this church. I learned French in high school for these people I will meet and love in France. And it’s really so, so awesome. And humbling. And I love it. I am who I am because I was called from long ago. 🙂 I dunno, I’m not trying to preach. I just like sharing what I learn and stuff.
 
I love you all so much! I cannot emphasize that enough! Thank you for all the love and packages!
 
Love,
Sister MelissaSmith
Leave a Reply

