Home » Uncategorized » Week Deux!!!!

Week Deux!!!!

Hey you all!!

This week has kind of gone by fast in so many ways, but I get to write you all again! I have definitely been looking forward to writing this week. I made sure to take more pictures just for you all to get a small taste of how beautiful it is. πŸ™‚ But the beauty is not what I love the most, though it is quite wonderful. I really love being able to go into the houses of the people and feel their hearts. Experience their burdens a little and try to help them the best I can. Because there are so many different origins of people here, there are so many different types of French, so I can’t always comprehend everyone, but I can comprehend most. I have found that the people who have French as their second language (after learning Spanish) are way easier. And, for sure, the Africans are the most difficult for me. But I love them all. πŸ™‚ And it’s only my second week fully, so it will come more and more. Also, Spanish is way hard to understand. πŸ™‚ If any of you have some common phrases that I can learn, I would love to receive them. πŸ™‚ I have found many people here who only speak Spanish, and I would love to be able to communicate with them a little.

I meant to tell you last week a little of our service! It’s so cool! We’re teaching French and English classes for those who want to learn. It’s really fun listening to them say things in English πŸ™‚ And it made me realize that that is probably exactly how I sound in French to them, haha. I’m pretty shy when it comes to talking to the people, but they’re so willing to help me and correct my French. I’m grateful for it. πŸ™‚ But yeah, we basically find any way to serve that we can, and I love it. You really gain a deeper love for the people when you serve them.

The members here are so awesome and strong! And each Sunday, we all pray at 9 pm for the things that our mission is trying to accomplish together. The power of united prayer is pretty amazing.

Once we visited a member’s home, and when I shook their hands, they felt how cold mine were, and they took them and warmed them for me. πŸ™‚ And they gave me a little warmed pouch that you put in a microwave for me to hold. And they made soup for us. It was so very Christ-like, and I felt the love of the Lord and the Holy Spirit so strong in that house. And I felt the multitude of blessings that they have in store for serving us in such a sincere way. It made me want to really do all I can to serve those that I see. πŸ™‚

This week has seemed to have the theme of prayer, for us. Prayer really is such a powerful tool, and we have seen miracles every day from fervently praying to the Lord to be instruments in His hands. It’s beautiful. πŸ™‚

But yeah! I love you all so so very much! I love the Lord! And I love studying the scriptures. There is a beautiful power that comes from studying them. It’s awesome to be here.

With love,
Sister Smith

Leave a Reply

