Home » Uncategorized » New Places/New Faces

New Places/New Faces

Hi everyone!

This week has been a crazy, yet great one so far! I was only in Gex for two transfers (12 weeks), and now I have been sent to Grenoble. They are two completely different environments in so many different ways, but I feel that there is some special work here to do. Also, you should look up as many pictures as you can about the place. The city is huge, but the mountains are huger.. bigger. I was definitely sad to leave Gex because the members and people there all felt like my family, but I am so excited to extend the love I have for others. Just when it seems like we can’t possibly grow how much love we are putting out, it explodes even more when you meet other people. (I hope that made sense)

So I originally came here to be companions with Sister Keating (from North Carolina! Yeah Southern power! haha), but after a series of events, we are now a “trio”, with Sister Young, who is from California. We’re a great team, and I am so excited for all of the amazing things that are going to happen in the next 6 weeks.

They’re actually both starting their second transfer, and I will be finishing their training, which is a big trust from Heavenly Father. It seems to me that he puts his trust in those who feel they are least capable. It’s baffles me how much trust he has in us. It’s going to be awesome. 🙂 We have a lot of work to do here: building up the members, finding new people, talking to everyone. I am excited to work hard.

Last transfer was great because I learned more of my many weaknesses. This transfer will be great because I will turn those weaknesses into strengths.

Oh! And one day last week, I found this amazing scripture in the Bible. And, so far, we have shared it with so many people who have talked about so many things pertaining to it. It’s in Romans 5: 1-5. And it’s talking about afflictions, and how they lead to perseverance, and this perseverance leads to hope in Christ. It might be patience and tribulations in English, but I have been sharing it in French, so it might be a little different.

I love this scripture though, because it’s so true. When we realize that trials are there for us to grow, we develop patience, knowing that they will help us change to those wonderful people we need to be. And then, we realize this, and it gives us hope. Hope that Christ can help us become those awesome people.

I love all of you!! Thank you so much for your support! It means so much to me, and your examples give me strength.

Love,
Sister Smith

also, here is my new address, but I think it is only good for letters, not boxes (also, it may not be completely correct, maybe you can use those good google things and find it):

Les missionaires
Soeur Melissa Smith
12 Maréchal Foch
Grenoble 38000
France

Leave a Reply

