Home » Uncategorized » Weeks of Building

Weeks of Building

Hello everyone!

This week has been an interesting one, to be frank. Frank. I’m not sure how you spell that. But, frankly, I am thankful for this church. It’s been great because, when you’re in a new area, you get to know the people, and, if you’re a convert, they always ask you to tell them your conversion story. And I love telling it to them because it let’s me see how much the Lord’s hand really was there throughout my life, preparing me for this. And it’s great for the members to see how inviting friends to church activities really makes a difference. I wish I had Annalise’s email so that I could contact her more. I’m so glad and thankful she invited me to girl’s camp 6 years ago. That was the single thing that really changed the direction of my life. And I get excited when the young women here are preparing for girl’s camp because it’s a chance to change their friend’s lives too. Even if it isn’t evident that the change happens right away. (Please let the Strange and Kunzler families know that I love them. Can you get their email, too? They were such the examples to me while I was growing up with them in high school.)

I’ve seen more and more how firm a foundation we have if we build it upon the Savior. Just like the hymn. And I’ve grown to love this hymn more every day this week. And I’ve been so glad to share this little testimony with people in the street, too. Even if they say that they’re not interested, I think it still causes something within them to think about it. Because, when the hard times come, and we have nothing solid to hold onto, we fall.

But yeah, I don’t have very much time left. We aren’t a trio anymore, which was sad because I was really excited for it. But I am still with Sister Keating. She has such a strong drive to go and find people, and her love for them radiates so well when she talks. It’s awesome. We’re learning together how to work hard, be consecrated, and be happy all of the same time. ๐Ÿ™‚ Choose now to be happy. That’s something that I have learned this week. In waiting for the next moment for happiness to come, we will never find it.

I love you guys! And girls! And Americans! Oh! That reminds me!! Happy Birthday America! July 4th wasn’t really a celebration here, of course, and I actually forgot about it a little. But I celebrated in my heart. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll secretly celebrate with you on the 14th, the day of Independence here for France ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great week! And I’ll try to get some pictures here soon!

love immensely,
Sister Smith

Leave a Reply

