Home » Uncategorized » Tip Off The Old Hat!

Tip Off The Old Hat!

Hey you all! Y’all!

The title seems like it is close to all of the great old sayings of America, but I forget them often,so I end up making some of my own. But yes! As the title implies, there were so many fun happenings this week!

Maybe I should start from Sunday and go backwards since it’s more fresh in my mind! Three of us eight missionaries here in Grenoble were asked to give talks in Sacrament meeting (our meeting where everyone is together and takes the bread and water to remember Christ). The members are often asked to give talks ranging from five to thirty minutes. I was asked to do one! Which is so exciting/nervous-making because it’s talking up in front of everyone. In French, too. It makes me wonder how I could have ever gotten nervous to speak to everyone in English. But! It went well people said. I was asked to talk about my conversion story and member missionary work (the Strange’s and the Kunzler’s!). And our friend, Armande came! She is still so filled with love, and I really feel like she is already a part of this church! My collegue, Soeur Robison, said that while I was bearing my testimony during my talk, Armande said “Me too. I know it’s true.” 🙂 It made me want to cry! She is so amazing! We get to see her this week, and I am so excited for that!

Saturday, we went to eat lunch with a member here and her son. Her and I basically have the same story where we joined the church at 19 and went on a mission at 21. And she’s so beautiful! We tell her, and she always says, “Oh, I’m not beautiful; I’m old.”(Surprisingly, a lot of people say that here) I feel like beauty increases with age. So you women out there who think you’re not beautiful, you are. 🙂 But anyways! Her son makes clothing (he’s 25), and he made Soeur Robison and me hats! Beautiful, white hats with red ribbons. We took pictures, too! So I’ll get them to you. We can’t wear them while talking to people, but they’ll be great for summer days in the 1800’s. (just disregard the desk in a jumble in the background. I do clean it daily; it just explodes spontaneously sometimes)

We got to see Serge again, too! I’ll try to get pictures with all of these wonderful people so you can get an idea in your head. I’ll never forget them. 🙂 It was so great with him this week because he said, “I have something to ask you. Can you pray for me to get better so that I may come to church? I really want to.” And I was pretty touched by that. I cried a little. The joy that you feel with people is so immense sometimes.He told us what he had read in 1 Nephi 8 (about the tree of life) , and then proceeded to apply this one scripture into his life better than I had ever heard before.

Peut-être je peux vous enseigner le français pour que je puisse communiquer avec les gens quand je rentrerai les Etats-Unis. Je vous aime tous! Passez une bonne semaine!

Avec l’amour,
Soeur Smith

Leave a Reply

