Home » Uncategorized » Smile

Smile

I’ve been pondering a lot about smiling lately. The worth of a smile, the effect of a smile. It seems to me that it’s a good thing. 🙂 When you look at a person who isn’t smiling (for whatever reason it may be), and then, you look in their eyes and give them the biggest smile you can, it makes them stop. They stop thinking about whatever hard thing they had in their mind, and they ask themselves a couple of questions: Who is this person? Do I know them? Why are they smiling at me? What should I do?

They ask themselves a million questions, but they just end up smiling right back at you. A smile is super powerful. I would say that it’s even more powerful than the most interesting superpower in the world. AND it works across language barriers. And I think it’s safe to say that the two parties involved are left equally positive.

We were having a lesson with one of our members who speaks Russian and a friend who speaks Lithuanian and Russian, and I had no idea what they were saying most of the time. BUT I could see their smiles. And when they smiled, I smiled, even though I had no idea. It was great! The member spoke English too, so it went well.

We also had another miracle, too! The week of Christmas, when we made candles for people, we met this lady on the street and we all three immediately became friends. And we gave her the last candle we had brought with us. And she was so surprised that it was for her and it was free. And we gave her our card, but she wasn’t interested for the moment.

Then, yesterday, one of the members came up to us and told us this story of when he went to the doctor. The lady was asking what his religion was, and, after asking three or four different options, he told her he was Mormon. Then, he said she smiled, looked up, and immediately showed him this candle that two nice young girls had given her a couple of weeks ago!

When I heard that, I was so excited, and I immediately thought that the love of the Lord is so great for His children.

We should all go out and smile a little more this week. Even through the hard times, just walk forward and smile. 🙂

I love you

Sister Smith

Leave a Reply

