Home » Uncategorized » A Scared Time

A Scared Time

This is my last email that I will send as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints. 

 
The end seemed so far, but it came faster than I had ever expected it. But it’s not the end; it’s the beginning. 
 
Serving the Lord for a year and a half or two years changes you. Here is what I hope. I hope that, when I return, you all see or sense a change in me. It happens, and it is natural when all you are trying to do is preach, teach, live, and become the message pf Jesus Christ. 
 
I have loved this time of my life, and I really know that it was for Him. 
 
I want to share one more sacred experience with you all before I leave:
 
We had the challenge and the promise by our mission President and by Elder Andersen of the Twelve Apostles saying that we can baptise someone the 5th of july. My collegue and I took this promise very literally.So we have been working on preparing ourselves and those around us to be worthy to partake in this experience. As of last week, we had no one in particular who was ready. 
 
During our planning for the week, my collegue said that we’re supposed to be having a baptism on the 5th, so we fixed goals and made plans to have it happen. And, after, even though we didn’t have anyone, we felt like we should announce it to the Branch President here in Chambery that we will have a baptism on the 5th. 
 
As it came to Sunday morning, my collegue asked me if I had prayed about whether we should announce it, and I hadn’t. So, during the second hour of church, I did. 
 
When I did, I felt so strongly that it was the Savior asking us to do it. He was calling us to do a miracle. It would grow my faith, it would grow my collegue’s faith, and it would grow the branch’s faith. It felt just like in the scriptures. 
 
After the second hour, I turned to my companion and the other sisters and I said, “Let’s create a miracle.” So we told the Branch President to announce it to the branch (the members here) that there will be 2 baptisms (one for us and one for the other sisters). And, as he did, he told everyone, “Let’s exercise our faith. It’s true faith.”
 
I have no doubt in me that we will have a baptism on Saturday. Doubt not. Fear not.  
 
This mission is the mission of Christ. And I want to sincerely thank each and every one of you for supporting me and for helping me to be able to come and accomplish it. I know you are really blessed for it.
 
I will see you all in a week or so. We create our miracles by our faith.
 
I love you,
 
Sister Smith
Leave a Reply

